DARYL HALL Releases New Solo Album Laughing Down Crying – out September 27th

 Legendary singer-songwriter Daryl Hall is set to release his fifth solo studio album, Laughing Down Crying, on September 27th (Verve Forecast). With his iconic soulful vocals, Hall’s newest collection feels fresh and current while still maintaining his signature style and songwriting prowess. Hall was joined in the studio by co-producers Greg Bieck (Jennifer Lopez, Destiny’s Child, Ricky Martin) and Paul Pesco on the making of this album. Powerhouse producer, the late T-Bone Wolk (Billy Joel, Carly Simon, Elvis Costello), lent his expertise on stand-out tracks “Lifetime of Love”, “Wrong Side of History” and “Problem With You.” This album serves as the last project they worked on together after a prolific 30 year relationship.


While Daryl Hall is an adored staple in America’s music scene for his work in Daryl Hall and John Oates and his already illustrious solo career, he has recently been making waves as a “tastemaker” for up and coming talent as music host and Executive Producer of his smash hit web television series, Live From Daryl’s House. He has been giving artists like Fitz and the Tantrums and Company of Thieves a chance to perform to national audiences, often for the first time. On the program, which won the 2010 WEBBY Award in the Variety category, Hall seeks out new and breaking talent and invites them to his home in Millerton, NY. One of the most unlikely collaborations that stemmed from his show was his pairing up with electro-funk duo Chromeo for a standout performance at Bonnaroo in 2010. Since its inception in late 2007, Live From Daryl’s House has since gained national distribution and will be airing in syndication beginning September 24th, 2011. www.LiveFromDarylsHouse. com


Daryl Hall is the co-founder and lead singer of the “rock and soul” duo Daryl Hall and John Oates . The pair is recognized as the “Number One Selling Duo” in music history by the Recording Industry Association of America, a title they still hold today. Hall, an inductee to the Songwriters Hall of Fame, penned six songs that reached No. 1 on the Billboard charts including such classics as “Rich Girl” and “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)” and another five tunes that registered in the Top 10. Hall’s solo career began in the ‘70s and he has released a handful of critically acclaimed albums in that time; Sacred Songs in 1980, Three Hearts in the Happy Ending Machine in 1986 which spawned the No. 5 Billboard chart hit “Dreamtime”, Soul Alone in 1993 and Can’t Stop Dreaming in 1996.


With such an incredible legacy behind him and an exciting platform from which to move forward, the future is limitless for Daryl Hall. There are many new artists, some of whom he has championed on his show, who would attribute their work to the influence of the iconic songwriting and melodies that have solidified Hall as one of the most important artists in musical history. Laughing Down Crying will surely hit home with all of his loyal fans who have been waiting over a decade for his next solo effort.


Full track listing:

1.       Laughing Down Crying

2.       Talking to Myself

3.       Lifetime of Love

4.       Eyes for You

5.       Save Me

6.       Message to Ya

7.       Wrong Side of History

8.       Get Out of the Way

9.       Crash and Burn

10.   Problem With You